Bruce Springsteen quietly drops new music from hasty recording session

Legendary American rocker Bruce Springsteen has dropped a surprise new song ahead of a new album out in October.

The Born To Run hit maker released Letter To You, the title track from his forthcoming album on Thursday evening Australian time after no lead-up promotion. The album was recorded in five days with Springsteen's band playing live in his home studio in New Jersey.

Bruce Springsteen has quietly released a new song, ahead of a new album.Credit:Danny Clinch

In a statement announcing the release, he described the hasty process as one of the greatest recording experiences in his life.

"I love the emotional nature of Letter To You, and I love the sound of the E Street Band playing completely live in the studio, in a way we’ve never done before, and with no overdubs. We made the album in only five days, and it turned out to be one of the greatest recording experiences I’ve ever had," he said.

The 12-track album includes nine new Springsteen songs and new recordings of three previously unreleased tracks from the '70s including Janey Needs A Shooter, which Springsteen spent years working on before shelving. Another of the previously unreleased tracks is If I Was A Priest, which had previously leaked from demo sessions at CBS Studios and has been available to listen to through unofficial channels since the '70s. The third, Song for Orphans, has formed part of Springsteen's live shows but he has never released it on an album.

The song is called Letter To You and is from the album of the same name.

Letter To You is Springsteen's 20th studio album and follows Western Stars, which debuted at No.1 in the ARIA charts when it was released in June last year. It was his third No.1 album in Australia and his 11th in the top 10.

The music industry has been buzzing with rumours that new Springsteen music was on the way after his long-time collaborator Ron Aniello posted a cryptic message on Instagram in August. Letter To You was produced by Aniello along with Springsteen.

The surprise was nearly spoiled after Amazon UK and a small record store in West Virginia uploaded details about the release a day early.

Letter To You is the second song on the album and is available now. The album of the same name will be released on October 23.

The full track list is:

1. One Minute You’re Here
2. Letter To You
3. Burnin’ Train
4. Janey Needs A Shooter
5. Last Man Standing
6. The Power Of Prayer
7. House Of A Thousand Guitars
8. Rainmaker
9. If I Was The Priest
10. Ghosts
11. Song For Orphans
12. I’ll See You In My Dreams

Trump Biden 2020

Our weekly newsletter will deliver expert analysis of the race to the White House from our US correspondent Matthew Knott. Sign up for The Sydney Morning Herald‘s newsletter here, The Age‘s here, Brisbane Times‘ here and WAtoday‘s here. 

Most Viewed in Culture

Source: Read Full Article