Strictly Come Dancing 2019: ‘Is this the Kevin Clifton show?’ Fans blast opening routine

The Strictly Come Dancing stars were strutting their stuff in the Blackpool Tower this evening as the celebrities reached the infamous week in the BBC’s show calendar. Kicking off tonight’s show was an energetic, glitzy number performed by the professional dancers with appearances from the celebrities too. However viewers weren’t impressed with Kevin Clifton’s starring role in the routine. 

Kevin starred as a conductor in the performance as he orchestrated his co-stars coming on to the dance floor.

“Everyone wanted Johannes not Grimsby Kev upfront #Blackpool #Strictly #JustSaying,” one wrote.

Another said: “Too much Kevin but otherwise a great start #Strictly.”

“Even when he’s eliminated I can’t have one week without Kevin being centre of attention #Strictly,” a third said.

Read more: Strictly 2019: Kelvin Fletcher kicked off top spot? Here’s why


  • Strictly 2019: Anton Du Beke drops shocking rehearsal revelation

“Why is Kevin the star of this? As if he doesn’t act like he owns the show anyway. #strictly,” another remarked.

Another tweeted: “Is this the Kevin Clifton show?  #Strictly.”

“That wasn’t an opening routine on Strictly so much as it was just a look inside Kevin Clifton’s head. Legend in his own mind #strictlyblackpool,” another added.

However other viewers loved the opening number as one tweeted: “Great opening #strictlyblackpool.”

Another wrote: “Watching @bbcstrictly and an amazing opening with the professionals and the celebrities at Blackpool #Strictly #Strictlyblackpool.”

“Excellent start to Strictly #BlackpoolWeek #StrictlyComeDancing2019 #strictlyblackpool,” a third said.

Elsewhere Anton Du Beke dropped a shocking revelation about what it’s really like strutting your stuff on the strictly dance floor each weekend. 

The stalwart first appeared on the show when the series began in 2004 and is the only professional dancer to have appeared in every series since.

The Chase: Coronation Street star outraged after Bradley Walsh jibe [VIDEO]
Graham Norton cancelled: BBC chat show taken off air – here’s why [INSIGHT]
EastEnders spoilers: Linda Carter to embark on Billy Mitchell affair? [THEORY]

In an exclusive interview with, Anton opened up about what it’s like performing in the competition with Emma Barton. 

As much as Anton loves the show, he admitted it can be extremely stressful at times.

When asked if taking on a new dance each week with Emma is gruelling, he said: “It’s no joke.

“Rehearsing each day, every day, as much time as you can and then you perform on Saturday night.”


  • Tess Daly sizzles in thigh split dress for Strictly Come Dancing

“So the stress level is there, anxiety is high in that respect,” he explained.

However the professional dancer went on to reveal he “loves” his job regardless of the pressure. 

He continued: “It’s a job I’d I’d rather do over anything else this because I absolutely love it. 

“I think it’s the best thing in the world. I don’t like to call it gruelling, because I’m having the best time.”

Moonlight Over Mayfair by Anton Du Beke out now, HB, eBook & audio (£18.99). Anton will be doing book events across the UK, see his website for more details

Strictly Come Dancing: The Results returns to BBC One Sunday at 7.15pm.


2004 winner: Natasha Kaplinsky

Newsreader Natasha Kaplinsky was the first celebrity to win the BBC dancing series, which originally aired in July of 2004. She was partnered with Brendan Cole. They finished 39 points ahead of competitor Christopher Parker.

2004 winner: Jill Halfpenny

Jill Halfpenny was the second star to impress the judges with her dancing skills. Partnered with Darren Bennett, the pair beat off competition from Julian Clary and Denise Lewis in December of 2004. 

2005 winner: Darren Gough

Cricketer Darren Gough won the third series of Strictly. He and partner Lilia Kopylova wowed audiences but never once finished at the top of the leaderboard.

2006 winner: Mark Ramprakash

Mark Ramprakash was the fourth star to lift the Glitterball Trophy. He was partnered with Karen Hardy and they were the first couple to restart a routine after their initial attempt saw Mark’s mic get caught in Karen’s dress.

2007 winner: Alesha Dixon

Before becoming a Strictly judge, Alesha Dixon won the nation’s hearts and the Glitterball Trophy during the fifth series. She was partnered with professional dancer Matthew Cutler.

2008 winner: Tom Chambers

Holby City star Tom Chambers was partnered with Camilla Dallerup when he won the sixth series. He performed the Foxtrot and Salsa in the final week.

2009 winner: Chris Hollins

BBC Breakfast presenter Chris Hollins and his professional partner Ola Jordan surprised viewers when they beat Ricky Whittle and his partner Natalie Lowe in the final. They wowed with the Foxtrot, Charleston, Lindy Hop and Showdance.

2010 winner: Kara Tointon

Kara Tointon was the eighth celebrity to win Strictly. She danced with Artem Chigvintsev and failed to receive 40 points throughout her time on the show.

2011 winner: Harry Judd

Former McFly star Harry Judd was the ninth star to lift the Glitterball Trophy. He didn’t top the leaderboard until week seven but then scored 40 points twice in the final.

2012 winner: Louis Smith

The tenth series of the BBC show was won by Olympian Louis Smith. He danced his way to victory with professional partner Flavia Cacace. He faced competition from Kimberley Walsh, Denise Van Outen and Danni Harmer in the series finale.

2013 winner: Abbey Clancy

Model Abbey Clancy won series eleven of Strictly alongside partner Alijaz Skorjanec. She was called a “spectacular dancer” with “wonderful posture” by former head judge Len Goodman.

2014 winner: Caroline Flack

Love Island host Caroline Flack took to the dance floor in series 12 where she scooped the Glitterball Trophy with Pasha Kovalev.

2015 winner: Jay McGuiness

Jay McGuiness surprised viewers when he won the thirteenth series of the BBC dancing competition with Aliona Vilani. When he learned he’d won, he told host Tess Daly: “I feel spaced out – it’s really weird.”

2016 winner: Ore Oduba

Ore Oduba won the thirteenth series of the BBC dancing competition with Joanne Clifton.

The sports presenter broke down in tears after beating Danny Mac and Louise Redknapp.

2017 winner: Joe McFadden

Joe McFadden was victorious with professional dance partner Katya Jones. The Holby City star beat off competition from fan favourite Debbie McGee, Gemma Atkinson and Alexandra Burke.

2018 winner: Stacey Dooley

Documentary-maker Stacey fought off competition to make it to the Grand Final of Strictly Come Dancing with professional dance partner Kevin Clifton last year. When they won, Kevin described her as “the most wonderful person”.

Source: Read Full Article